Tolerate | Find Restaurants Suitable To Your Dietaries
Tolerate.
Close
06 Oct 2019

Wheat free vs. Gluten free? Is there an actual difference?

PHOTO: TLRT Foods

First, let’s break it down into definitions:

Wheat is a commonly consumed cereal grain and is composed of carbohydrates (starch) and proteins (gluten, gliadin, glutenin, albumin).

Gluten is a protein (made up from gliadin and gluten proteins) found in wheat, rye and barely. Gluten proteins contribute to almost 80% of the total grain proteins.

This means that all wheat foods contain gluten.

So yes, there is a very clear difference!

When someone has coeliac disease, this means they have a gluten allergy. Their body, the small intestine (where we absorb our nutrients) in particular, is physically affected by gluten. It can also cause inflammation in other parts of their body.

Common gluten and wheat containing foods are bread, breakfast cereals, porridge, cakes, biscuits, pizza, pasta, battered or crumbed food, pastry, couscous, and stuffing.

However, there are a range of gluten free alternatives and products available from

Orgran Gluten Free Foods

Barilla Gluten Free

Kez’s Kitchen

NOGO Sauces

Leda Nutrition

Freedom Foods

Choices Gluten Free

Ayam Gluten Free Range

Well and Good

Just to name a few!

Common non-gluten containing foods are quinoa, amaranth, buckwheat, chickpea flour, coconut flour, cornmeal, corn tortillas/wraps, lentil flour, potato flour, psyllium, rice (including flour and bran), polenta, sago, sorghum, soy flour and teff.

This is all well and good for when you cook for yourself – but when you’re eating out, use our TLRT QR code at restaurants or our online menus to find gluten free options just for you!